Home > Anime, Check-out Station, Episode by Episode > Check-out Station: Flowers of Evil

Check-out Station: Flowers of Evil


I knew I was gonna regret delving into this casually.  This episode definitely requires a sound mind before hopping into its world.  Though what I was thrown towards the end I was not prepared for.

I don’t really have words for this final episode, mostly because I thought it was presented poorly.  And I know this is a bit hypocritical coming from someone who has defended and tolerated this show because I believe its wonderfully artistic.  But the jarring presentation at the end I felt was just a furious dump of images and shocking developments that made me feel that we had taken a walk, but dashed from the sidewalk to the doorstep of the house we were getting to.  I really didn’t like it.  And it’s not because of what I was shown, but because of how it was presented.

As for the show in total, it’s been one of the more interesting rides I’ve taken in anime.  The world always seemed normal, but it didn’t seem to match up with the world inside the heads of Kasuga and Nakamura.  The logic I saw didn’t apply.  The sense of scale was way off.  And the general consensus on normal seemed to suffocate these characters.  So I guess I shouldn’t have been surprised (though I was) that when these two characters finally got in sync it would turn into a volatile and explosion combination.  Nothing ever seemed “right” about either characters, but I chalked that up to being over dramatic, selfish teenagers.  But it seems that this goes way beyond a need to express, and into a need to explode.

I had a lot to say about this show, but I feel strangely deflated by the ending.  It’s strange, too.  I tolerated the unique animation and story telling style because I generally found it interesting.  I can appreciate a series that makes such effort to present itself differently.  It appealed to me, and I felt like rewarding it.  I’m just disappointed that the show didn’t feel like following that through to the end.  What a flame out.

Further Reading:

  1. July 1, 2013 at 06:17

    I feel like the second half of this episode was mostly a giant teaser for season two (although so far as I know, a second season hasn’t been officially green-lit yet). I didn’t hate this final episode, but it also wasn’t what I was expecting… then again, I can’t think of a single thing about this show that I’d describe as ‘expected’, so that’s probably not saying all that much.

    • July 1, 2013 at 16:20

      And I’ll give it credit for that much. There wasn’t much you could call predictable in this show. My problem with that teaser is that it showed too much in my opinion. Part of the reason I watched this show was to be surprised and even shocked. I don’t need a damn movie trailer to show me all the “best” parts of a season we’re not even sure exists. It felt really, really poorly handled. The rest of the episode was standard stuff I could live with in this show. Even if it seemed A LOT of the episode was dedicated to showing us stuff we already saw.

      I’ve cooled down since the initial viewing, but I’m still not happy they had that teaser. Valvrave’s teaser was more subtle, and that says something.

      Maybe I’ll just start reading the manga now.

  1. No trackbacks yet.

Leave a comment