Home > Not Anime > Dig for the culture in your media

Dig for the culture in your media


I love stuff like this. As much as I love Japan and its culture, I’ve really only scratched the surface of my understanding. I’d love to incorporate more of this understanding into my daily life. I’m not gonna try to open up my own onsen in the South, but perhaps more hot relaxing baths are a start.

Knowing the cultural significance of something in a game or other forms of media can add a whole new world of depth to your experience.  Whether it’s watching something as culturally dense as Spirited Away, playing something as obtuse as Metal Gear Solid 3, or watching a movie set in specific time and/or culture you’re unfamiliar; it can all lead to only a more positive understanding of what you’re enjoying.  And it’s far more beneficial to you than writing it off as “weird foreign bullsh*t”.

I highly recommend you check out more of Gaijin Goomba’s work.  If you have any interest in Japanese culture, or the cultural references in video games, I’d check it out.  And if you have any examples of how culture helped you understand something you enjoyed, I’d love to hear it.

Categories: Not Anime Tags: , , ,
  1. No comments yet.
  1. No trackbacks yet.

Leave a Reply

