Home > Check-in Station > Check-in Station: Glasslip ep1 (I came for the animation; I stayed for the cocks)

Check-in Station: Glasslip ep1 (I came for the animation; I stayed for the cocks)


What a beautiful place.  What spectacular fireworks.  What bright-eyed, simple and happy people.  Look at all this nostalgia dripping from every panel as the joys of a summer festival wash over all- HEY!  There’s a guy over there not smiling!  He’s not partaking in any of the summer festivities!  He’s not bright-eyed at all, he looks rather menacing and dour!  The spectacular fireworks *gasp* – have no effect.  He’s not stopping to enjoy this beautiful place!  He must be an enemy!  Everyone frown!  He’s getting too close to and familiar with our most naive, bright-eyed and simple character!

Guy comes to a land of happy hicks and is not welcome.  Best synopsis ever!

I’m unsure as to how to approach or appreciate this show. Should I take it as a good thing that this show feels like a book brought to animation? While I appreciate the imagery, the actual story telling leaves me wanting. It feels too heavy handed and vague. We’re only left with the impression that all these moments will be impressive and important later.

I can be happy that there is a concerted effort to get the viewer as familiar with the characters and relationships quickly.  But it doesn’t necessarily come across clearly.  The show seemed way more interested in showing us good shots, and artful direction.  But all that just left me kinda bored throughout much of this first episode.  Granted, I’ve not taken one single glimpse at the synopsis for this show.  I have no idea if this will get supernatural, or if this will be one of those slice-of-life shows that focuses on day-to-day problems and close relationships.  I do this because usually, those synopses give too much information and you generally end up with too much information.  Usually those overviews of what the show is about kill my excitement for the first episode.  The first episode’s plot is often given to you in that synopsis.  This time though, I think I would’ve benefited from taking a peek.

It’s not all bad though.  I enjoyed the conversation between Toko and Kakeru, despite it being a little long and silly.  Kakeru seems needlessly obtuse and unfamiliar with the world at times.  It gives me the impression that he’s not your average visitor.  Also being a mid third year transfer is really weird, too.  He must have some sh*tty parents to him through that.

Overall, the episode is exceptionally pretty and easy to enjoy on its visuals alone.  On the other hand, this episode most of the time struck me as dreadfully boring.  There was really no wow factor to this whole first episode.  Hopefully I’ll get a better grasp of the central conflict and the reasons I should care about these people in the next episode.

Further Reading:

  • Nothing!  Watch a Haruhi Suzumiya anime!  It’s got more interesting boring moments.
  1. No comments yet.
  1. No trackbacks yet.

Leave a Reply

