Home > Pervy Chronicles > Check-in Station Dark Edition: Issue #4 (It’s not gay – it’s penis)

Check-in Station Dark Edition: Issue #4 (It’s not gay – it’s penis)


It’s time for my fourth blog post exclusively dedicated to the manga and anime too risque to go anywhere else.  The red light district of the Check-in Station if you will.  This time I get to enjoy the beginnings of a new breather in Nana to Kaoru, though I could do without a certain furry interloper.  I try out a new yuri manga with one very stoic character and one giant moron… so you know, the standard manga relationship that I’ve seen forever.  Yuria Hyaku Shiki tries things out “both ways”.  We get to see a lot of adults in relationships do a fair amount of lying to each other.  And I slowly learn that the need to go to the bathroom is a growing and disturbing fetish in Japan.

Here are the entries I’ll be covering this week in order:

  • Nana to Kaoru ch68 & 69
  • Hana to Hoshi ch1
  • Yuria 100 Shiki ch57
  • My Lovely Ghost Kana ch18
  • Happy Negative Marriage ch5
  • Liar’s Paradox ch3
  • Recently, My Sister is Unusual ep2

Chapter 68

“It’s none of my concern…”

What is this, Monster Hunter?  Pokemon?  You found a wild Japanese girl, want to catch her?  I can’t believe how easy it was for Tachi’s plan to work.  Aside from her worrying about the dog, she would’ve long been in Kaoru’s apartment.  And I’m fairly sure that bloody dog is gonna lead to them chasing it down or dealing with some other shenanigans.  It’s bad enough it went straight for Nana’s cooch, I don’t want it get anymore involved in the breather than it has to.

I did find it a nice little moment when Nana’s friend started talking about some of Kaoru’s better points, instead of constantly calling him Creepymura and talking about how weird and deviant he is.  Perhaps all that cardio and new found confidence is really working for him.

Now to move on to the next chapter.

Chapter 69

“I can’t… completely deny Koaru’s… words.”

Great!  I think I’m as excited about this next breather as the participants!  This is a mega breather!  We got Nana and Tachi jumping in together, and I’m actually worried that Kaoru won’t be able to handle all this hype fetish action on his own!  Then there’s the little annoying issue of the dog that Nana’s supposed to be babysitting.  I wonder just exactly how that little random factor is going to factor into this setup.

I don’t really have any complaints about a setup chapter like this.  I do think it sucks how Tachi’s overzealous attitude could completely ruin this potentially grand moment.  Coupled with the dog, I guess the big question here will be how Tachi manages to deal with the already well established chemistry between these two.  So far she’s already way too loud and amped up for the situation, and while I’ve praised her for being a great change of pace and catalyst for the story and the relationship between these two, she may just end up becoming a destabilizing force in this situation.  Maybe she can make up for that with those sexy props she brought?  *licks lips*  Here’s to hoping this breather is as hot as I was hoping it’d be.

Hana to Hoshi

Chapter 1

“So, what’s karaoke?”

It’s been a while since I read a new yuri manga, so when I was on G+ and saw this picture I couldn’t help myself but to give it a shot.  So far Hana to Hoshi seems silly, and I don’t know if it even belongs in the pervy section of my blog, but I’m gonna give it a shot.  It’s not too bad so far.

The setup is pretty simple, and pitiful.  You know, it’s standard manga stuff.  Hanai is a girl who was very proud of her – you know what?  I’m gonna let my favorite manga reading site tell the story.

Hanai is a junior higher and the best at table tennis. She’s never lost, and she’s won many tournaments, but after some freshman she’s never heard of beats her like it was nothing, she starts losing every game after that and she can’t get rid of that feeling of defeat. Now it’s her first day of high school and she’s decided to quit table tennis and live an ordinary high school life, but on the first day, she runs into the very girl that first defeated her. It turns out that she’s also quit table tennis, but this girl always has a cold expression on her face and Hanai can’t help but feel that this girl is always looking down on her and trying to mess up her perfect high school life. One day the girl falls asleep in class, and Hanai reaches over to wake her up. As she does so, the girl, still half asleep, looks up at her with a smile and almost kisses her. The girl later tells Hanai that she was having a dream about her, but Hanai coldly brushes it off thinking she’s just messing with her and walks away – as the girl behind her looks down while blushing…

-courtesy of AnimeA.net

That is literally the whole first chapter.

Overall, it was OK.  Hanai is plainly an idiot, and Hoshi is plainly the talented, tall and shy girl who has trouble expressing herself.  She also has a tendency to scare me as her character design reminds me of a ghost somehow.  It’s probably those seemingly cold, harshly staring eyes.  And right now, I don’t see much in the way of romance or chemistry… or more importantly I do see any hot lesbian action either!  *shakes fist in dismay*  I wonder how much longer this is going to continue before I get to see it?

Yuria 100 Shiki

Chapter 57

“Here in Japan… we have this culture called “Boys Love!”

Oh my!  We have a new challenger and he/she certainly has added a new twist to the series’ dynamic!  In case you didn’t get my hint, the new dutch wife in this series is half man, half lady – a hermaphrodite.  Though in this case I suppose I’d call the American made Lucy Mk. 3.5 a hybrid if anything.

The story is that this new dutch wife was constructed in America’s sh*tty recession economy and is the victim of government cutbacks.  Why the hell the federal government would fund this sh*t is beyond me.  Even bringing this project up in a budget meeting should get the person fired.  Even worse for it is that the budget cut off was so sudden that it ended up being a combination of two models, the female Mk 3 and the first ever male dutch wife, the Mk 4.  And this Lucy Mk3.5 isn’t happy about having the mind of a female and a guy’s junk.  That’s just too bad, because the scientist doesn’t have the money for lady parts, and we do’t have time for plot.  Send this b*tch to Japan so that we can commence the shenanigans!

Lucy Mk 3.5 is given a position as a foreign homestay in Japan, where a young high school student is waiting to accept her.  Somehow she (I’m gonna go with she for a pronoun from now on) not only meets one of the main characters immediately upon her arrival to Japan, but manages to get her dick grabbed several times, while also exposing her its impressive length and girth to everyone she comes across, too!  That’s right!  She ends up walking with her dick poking out of the TOP of her shorts randomly at length!  Get it?  At length!  Ha ha!  A penis joke/double entendre!  I am god-like!

*ahem*

Once Lucy Mk 3.5 (she seriously needs a nickname, I hate typing this) arrives at her destination, her new roommate isn’t happy to quickly find out that she’s rooming with a large American penis, but when Lucy Mk 3.5 shows that she has breasts, and wants to have sex with guys, she exposes her inner fujoshi.  We’re now left to deal with (Lucy Mk 3.5 and the audience) her rabid love of “boy love” material, and by the end of the chapter she’s fully invested in making Lucy Mk 3.5 sexually appealing to men, with Shunsuke being the first target of this new, large, hybrid American hermaphrodite penis.

So much penis in this post.  So awkward.  Let’s hurry up and move on.  And remember, this chapter wasn’t gay, it was just a lot of penis…

My Lovely Ghost Kana

Chapter 18

“Your daughter did not die here.  The one who died here was not your daughter.”

That was weird as hell.

This whole chapter just threw me off.  I wasn’t necessarily expecting a sex-filled chapter of lust, pleasure and happiness.  After all, the past chapter ended on a very weird and dark note.  But this whole chapter just felt like a troll.  The characters and the readers are thrust into a very public, urgent and confusing situation as a paranormal photographer, a medium and some grumpy old lady all show up at Daikichi’s run down residence to talk about a ghost by Kana’s name.  It all turns out to be a disturbing case of mistaken identity that ends up having a much happier ending for the old lady than Kana.  All this incursion does is remind her of the family that she can’t quite conjure any memories up about.  I fear this may have put Kana in a dour mood.  But this does bring up quite a bit of important questions that haven’t been addressed yet, but have always been lingering.

How exactly and why exactly did Kana kill herself?

Who is her family?

Do they still exist?  Do they still care?  Are they still looking for her?

Did she have any friends?

Did she have any happiness?

Happy Negative Marriage

Chapter 5

“I – I’ve really quit drinking!  I really have…!!  I have…  Are you listening to me?”

Not the best problem for a young woman to have, but not the worst either.  Looks like Shimako isn’t just a lightweight drinker, she’s a sloppy as hell one, too.  She’s so adorable though, that this makes this potentially detrimental flaw seem not so bad.  Yes, I’m basically saying that she’s so pretty that her flaws don’t even count for much anymore, but that’s the double standard world we live in.  Deal with it.  Pretty girls get away with more sh*t.  Though this does bring about the question of why someone as stunning as her isn’t married, yet.  The first time, I just thought it was an awkward moment like she said.  I thought perhaps she was just being hard on herself and exaggerating.  But as we see in this chapter, it is a habit and a problem, and it occurs very easily.

As for the other events, I was a little bored and annoyed with Keitaro and his friend going over the timeline of how these dates should be going as they work towards marriage.  I know it’s a step that has to be done, but it bores me to no end.  More importantly, we get a clear goal of the expectations of this relationship.  Basically in a little over a half dozen dates, this couple should be married if they do everything properly.  This is a very broad and flawed goal, because it doesn’t take into account any individuality, which is kinda the problem I have with the whole arranged marriage and dating-for-marriage scenes.  When you start breaking down people into a list of pros and cons, you’ve removed your feelings and desire for the person, and you’re turning the process into the process of shopping for a car or an expensive appliance.  And I can’t imagine how a process like that could yield and enjoyable marriage.  I’m aware that I’m shoving a lot of Western cultural morals into my review of an ancient Eastern institution, but that’s unavoidable to me.  I literally hate this idea.

Keitaro has much to think about moving forward.  He has to take into account not only this woman’s beauty and seeming talent for cooking (a powerful talent indeed), but he also must balance the baggage that comes with her.  If he can naturally handle that stuff without making a list, or punishing her too hard for her mistakes, then he’ll be fine.  It’s clear as day that he’s wide open for her, and she’s wide open for him.  Though it’s starting to look like the situation soon won’t just be up to them.  It appears there’s outside interference on the horizon.

Liar’s Paradox

Chapter 3

“If it hurts, just say so.”

To me, there isn’t much that is scarier in a relationship than having no boundaries, or at least not knowing them.  Granted, I haven’t lost all my senses.  I still have no desire to do anything that would have the cops called to my door.  Nor would I get so wild or indignant that I’d risk the ire of my ancestors.  But a relationship is more nuanced than that.  What the two adults in this story are toying with here is a full-on affair.  And if there was any doubt before as to how far this relationship could go, the answer is made strikingly more clear this chapter.

Sadly, this isn’t nearly the only problem here.  There’s also the case of Shunsuke giving another young lady he’s working with the impression that he’s wanting her instead.  Poor Nao seems wide open thanks to Shunsuke’s little mistake.  And now her thoughts are in the air for anyone to hear, as she’s telling all the girls in the office about her high hopes for getting with Shunsuke.  Mind you, the actual target of his affections, Hinako is working in that office, too.  And she hears all this!  That scene gets really awkward when one of their other female coworkers sees a message on her phone from Shunsuke for lunch.  Surprisingly that coworker is very understanding, though still taken back.  This seems so mature actually that I smiled.  This series has its mellow and mature moments, and I really appreciate them.

I can’t get too high on this chapter though, it did have its moments that made me say, “what the f*ck are you doing?”  And this is where my talk about boundaries comes into play.  Shunsuke and Hinako are once again chilling together when the subject of Nao comes up.  For some reason, Shunsuke gets pissed off enough about her not believing that he wasn’t trying to and doesn’t want to date Nao, that he mounts her.  *sigh*  This man either has no fear of reproach, or he really does think she’s such a mouse that even this stuff won’t get him in trouble.  He points out that he’s also horny as hell, and Hinako tries to get him to calm down.  Next thing you know, she has him tied up to the new chair they got for watching movies (I know it’s Tokyo and there’s very limited space, but this is pretty pitiful).  I see that and think she’s standing up for herself and I’m already to say she’s done a good job…

Then she mounts his lap, reaches down his pants and jacks him off with her tits out!  I’m not even talking about a tease either!  This is full-handjob with happy ending!  Good grief!  At this point, I can’t blame Shunsuke for being a little confused and sexually frustrated!  And by the very end it’s clear that Shunsuke is till worried about his chances, but he’s gained much more hope.
Octave ch9

Recently, My Sister is Unusual

Episode 2

Oh good grief!  This show is like a twisted, incestuous Kami Nomi!

I’m a little afraid that I’m going to see a very predictable pattern in this show.  I can see where the craziness and humour are coming from, but right now it doesn’t seem too clever.  This is the second straight episode where Mitsuki has been forced to deal with a sudden “bladder event”, and it just seems really dumb that she can’t say, “hold on, gotta go to the rest room real quick”.  Instead she allows herself to be put in a position where she has to use the bathroom at all costs, and ends up trying to pee in a vase in the nurse’s office, while being totally bare-assed to her brother at the worst moment.  I get it that the chastity belt can only stay off for three minutes out of an hour, but she should be able to manage that without it getting to this already.  It just gives me the feeling that these situations are going to be super simple and forced.

What’s more interesting, but infinitely more unfair is that the angel haunting her, Hiyori reveals to her her fuzzy past and the horrible pact she’s forced on Mitsuki.  Hiyori says that she died in a car accident (no surprise there), and that she doesn’t remember much else aside from her burning and unfulfilled passion for her step brother, Yuuya.  This is why she can’t just move on to Heaven like Mitsuki asks her to do.  Instead, she has to fulfill some ridiculous set of tasks to build her way towards Heaven.  She even reveals those details to Mitsuki through a dream, stating that the steps towards her satisfaction with Yuuya in a relationship will literally build steps towards her gateway into Heaven.  Why a disatisfied ghost has to possess the body of an unwilling woman and use her body for coitus to achieve peace is a question my Christian raised brain has trouble wrapping around.  But I have to remember that this show is from Japan, and their humour and values are not the same as mine.  I especially couldn’t care less about seeing someone pee on theirselves, though that seems to be all the rage in Japan right now.

Regardless, Hiyori’s mission causes all sorts of consequences and side effects for Mistsuki.  She’s constantly distracted by her invisible friend’s constant chatter.  She’s preoccupied with the newly acquired knowledge that she’s not only stuck with a chastity belt powered by sexual satisfaction, but that she’ll die should she not fulfill her task.  And then there’s the whole messy business of being stuck alone in a house with her stepbrother while she’s being pushed to have sex with him.  Mix in the recurring awkwardness and embarrassment of being randomly possessed and having your ghost’s abilities and personality mistaken as your own, and it’s enough to make you crazy – if not suicidal.

Speaking of suicide, I can’t quite get this show’s tone either.  One moment its sexual, and then another it’s trying to be funny.  And that’s fine, but then it gets real serious all of a sudden when at one moment this episode, Hiyori tells her that if she can’t handle her cushy little life, then she can just go to an intersection and kill herself at the exact spot she was maimed.  What the hell?!  We’re already dealing with death anyway with the ghost girl and all, but she literally tells her that she can just kill herself.  Damn ghost girl!  You pretty dark!  You gonna start asking her to cut herself next?

So far this feels like a very uneven, weird series.  I will give it credit for being hot in a weird way.  And it seems pretty clear that ecchi fanservice is the main point and focus of the series.  I’m just curious as to how seriously and competently the other aspects of this show are going to be handled.

Further Reading:

 

  1. No comments yet.
  1. No trackbacks yet.

Leave a Reply

