Home > Not Anime > Check-in Station’s Cooking Project 2014

Check-in Station’s Cooking Project 2014


Going back to my talk last month of resolutions, I did want to do to two things simultaneously. I wanted to expand, improve and diversify my blog, and I wanted to work on cooking. And I don’t find it too much outside of the realm of an aniblog to focus on food. Food is a huge part of any culture, and always will be. And when I watch anime you see that displayed on the screen in so many ways. Whether it’s some goofy shounen character’s love for a specific food, or a group of girls in an after-school club partaking in tea and pastries; it’s all about partaking in the pleasure of oral delights and indulging in a native or foreign culture. For me, that means that I will be focusing not just on Japanese culture, but on food culture in general and how I can be a better cook and person from it.

To help even things out, and make sure I don’t get in over my head while working on these never before tried meals, I’ve come up with a bit of a schedule. And I’ve planned it out a few months ahead.

January

  • Ramen
  • Yasai Itame
  • Cioccolata Calda

    courtesy of Japanese Cooking 101

February

  • Onigiri (rice balls)
  • Tamagoayaki
  • Vietnamese Coffee

March

  • Fish & Chips
  • Green Beans w/ Sesame Sauce
  • Long Fog

April

  • Vegan Breakfast Cereal
  • Perfect Steak
  • Slacker Shake

May

  • Gyoza
  • Vegan Movie Snacks
  • Sorrel or Prickly Pear Limeade

The idea here, is to pick two meals/foods to try out and one drink. In the beginning, I’ll be starting off mostly with Japanese foods, but I’m also going with a seasonal feel where I can as well. This will be especially true for the drinks, with refreshments like Cioccolata, coffee and the London Fog being much better under frigid conditions, and the drinks adjusting as the seasons and temperature change. And if I can, I’ll even put in some personal recipes of my own. I’ve already gotten one recipe out of the way, so look forward to seeing the results of that effort soon.

Categories: Not Anime Tags: , ,

Leave a Reply

