Home > Episode by Episode > Check-in Station: Flowers of Evil ep1

Check-in Station: Flowers of Evil ep1


I have heard A LOT about this show. Even before the episode released the Internet was swimming with debate and impressions of the series. I’m just glad it’s finally started so we can see if this series is capable of being a legend or a dud. And honestly, this show is off to a slow, but interesting start.

The first thing that stands out to me is the art. I get a very realistic impression from the characters, and a very impressionist feel from the coloring, and layout and just the perspectives the show takes. It really looks like someone brought to life an artist’s painting. And I think it’s beautiful. Really beautiful.

I was a little taken aback by the opening theme. The actual animation was rather stagnant, but the music itself moved along nicely, briskly. I don’t know if I’m not paying particular attention to the lyrics(which I can almost guarantee), of if this is really an upbeat song given to what is promised to be a very dark and twisted show. The ending theme was appropriately creepy though.

The actual narrative, the most important part, moved very slowly for me. It gave me a very normal impression of pretty much all the characters involved. The episode did its best to point us to the main character’s darker side, but until I see the actual actions, I’m not buying it as of yet. The only character that stuck out was some chick with glasses that mouthed off, and then stared down the teacher.

Overall, a not very exciting or engaging first episode, but a beautiful one. I don’t think this episode would have kept a lot of people coming back if it weren’t for the manga’s reputation. Regardless, I plan on watching this short series for its duration, but I’ll officially extend it an invitation for a 5 episode test. It engages my eyes, now lets hope it engages my brain.

  1. April 10, 2013 at 14:16

    The manga is incredibly perverted but has that “something” in it that makes it perplexing and suspenseful. I really am SURPRISED that all the professional critics are going gaga over this one. Wait until they learn that….well I won’t spoil it for you. But it’s kinda gross. And I bet they’ll jump ship at that point. I watched the first episode of this so far, I must say I enjoyed the pacing. But the rotoscoping is garbage. I hate that, it looks really unnerving and kinda ugly. I might stick with the manga on this one…and I NEVER do that.

    • April 10, 2013 at 15:23

      Wow! Ppl really, really hate that style of animation. I always thought of myself as kind of an animation snob, but I don’t mind it so much.

      As for the disgusting perverted stuff. It has to be pretty bad to give me pause. Like I’ve told people, I’ve read all of Sundome and read some pretty disturbing manga. Some of that sh*t I dare not even list, so I THINK I can handle it once it comes. We will see soon enough though.

      • April 10, 2013 at 21:12

        Actually this manga is exactly like Sundome. It’s like the spiritual sucessor to that. It’s kinky, perverted, and gross in the same kind of ways. There’s nothing in this that’s HORRIBLY gross, but it’s far more perverted and gross then that first episode let’s on. Not sure how the anime will deal with those issues but will be interesting to see (if I can manage to look past the animation). But damn man rotoscoping is garbage. I’m a huge fan of using innovative techniques in animation (Venus Wars and Genocyber both inserted live action into their animation and I LOVED that), and I love a unique look to a show. But this just doesn’t sit with me well, because it’s far too ugly. And it has that whole uncanny valley thing going on. Anyway nice post.

      • April 10, 2013 at 21:58

        Well, that’s no problem then. Watching this show will be a breeze. Though if it’s on the level you say it is, I worry if the studio animating it will have the balls to follow through with all the material.

  1. No trackbacks yet.

Leave a Reply

