Home > Anime, Check-out Station > #PenguinDrum ep24: next time someone says anime is dead, smack them with this show. #anime

#PenguinDrum ep24: next time someone says anime is dead, smack them with this show. #anime


I don’t really have much to say. I’ve never had much to say actually.  I guess I’ll start by saying that this ending, while similar to Madoka Magica, wasn’t nearly as cruel as that show. You get just enough to know that things turned out well, though bitter sweet.

I’ve never watched a show I enjoyed so much, and understood so little.  This is also the easiest show that I could give a perfect score to, while simultaneously being the HARDEST show to categorize and recommend to novice anime viewers. Seriously, this is NOT a starter anime. I believe it will for many years to come bring great respect to the medium, but throwing a novice into this means they’re going to be hopping into the deep end of the pool. There’s much that could go over a viewer’s head.

It’s also why I loved this show. It’s no secret that this series will be picked over for a long time to come.  There’s so much going on in the background. There’s so much being hinted at through dialogue.  The flashbacks were always very clear and to the point, but they never beat you with information or spelled things out too clearly as if you were a child.  There were inferences to be made. It felt very unreal, very dreamlike as you watched them.

It was also a show full of many twists, turns and shocks. For every befuddling moment early on in the series, it felt like there was a sobering, or horrific moment to walk hand in hand with it during the latter half.

Mawaru PenguinDrum also touched on something that profoundly annoys me, not to the show’s detriment though. The ideas of “fate” and “destiny” are ideas I hate as much as hearing someone proclaim they’re fundamentally better than someone else, or hearing someone proclaim they’re a god.  It just irks me to my core to think that everything is predetermined.  It makes life seem very pointless, very lifeless. Are you really free to do as you choose in life, or is it an illusion.  Are you really just some fish swimming downstream, going in the one
direction you have and know? So I privately rooted for the siblings despite my morbid and pessimistic natural tendencies when I watch a show.

To me, Himari was as good as dead starting from the beginning of the show.  Kanba’s actions also eventually doomed him in my eyes based on his almost suicidal devotion to Himari and of course his numerous slayings. I was for sure only the innocent, naive Shouma would find a way out of this. But I was wrong, they righted the ship just enough to salvage themselves and the lives of many people. They didn’t save the ship so to speak, but they salvaged enough to at least get to a lifeboat and survive. What really matters was accomplished totally.
Even though the price was brutal, cruel and absolute.  It’s actually the good ending, and it could have turned out so much worse.

Mawaru PenguinDrum, you are a masterpiece. A weird masterpiece who really likes laying on the drama, looking pretty, ugly penguin fashion and diaries, but one nonetheless.  I’m sure the show’s famous, beloved director will never read this post, but if he did I just wanted to say,

“Thank you so much for this show. It was worth the extended wait for
you to take the lead on another anime project. Mawaru PenguinDrum is
beautiful, it’s smart, it’s entertaining, and it moves anime forward
while simultaneously inspiring me to dream of what other ways anime
can surprise me.”
Image posted by MobyPicture.com
– Posted using MobyPicture.com

 

Further Reading:

Leave a Reply

