Home > Check-in Station, Episode by Episode > #GundamAGE ep1: that wasn’t so bad. It was an average Gundam opening. #anime

#GundamAGE ep1: that wasn’t so bad. It was an average Gundam opening. #anime


Poor Largan, he just missed out on making Gundam history. Then again, I suppose his place will be as the veteran/senpai pilot who may or may not die. If you’re a veteran mentor who has previously piloted a Gundam or other super mobile suit before like Amuro, Char, or Athrun you live. If you’re a skilled veteran who normally pilots grunts during your mentorship though like Sleggar Law or Mu la Flaga you tend to die. But I’m getting way ahead of myself.

The cutesy, rather cheap looking animation aside, I didn’t mind the setting, the characters or pacing at all. It was all pretty average and to be expected. With these show I think it’s all of matter of the tone. And I can’t really tell one way or another exactly what tone this show will set. Largan definitely could’ve died a craptacular death back there and that would have made this a bit darker, but so far it’s vanilla Gundam. I won’t dare call it kiddie just because of the character designs and color palette.

The UE gives me a definite Celestial Being feeling. Gundam doesn’t dabble in aliens (aside from the infamous 00 movie). With the destruction of a downed ally by them I’m definitely getting the idea that it was just a way (a harsh one) for their advanced technology to not get out. I’m not saying they’re not bad guys, because so far they’ve been nothing but dicks. But I doubt the that they’re aliens just based on past experiences. Plus I’m sincerely hoping that Gundam leaves the aliens to its more whimsical buddy Macross.

As far as initial set up goes, this first episode of Gundam AGE seems to have done as well as can be expected. I’ve checked off a lot of Gundam traditions so far. I’m just waiting for a masked antagonist now. But hopefully this will be a series that learns from past Gundam series and gets better with each week. I hold out hope that each new Gundam will be my new favorite Gundam… next to the Zeta series, of course!

 

Image posted by MobyPicture.com
– Posted using MobyPicture.com

  1. October 12, 2011 at 19:06

    The first episode certainly was what you’d expect from Gundam. I definitely did like it, and I’m looking forward to seeing more.

  2. October 13, 2011 at 12:06

    Yep, there isn’t much one can say at this point besides it was pretty okay. I am looking forward to it though.

  3. November 5, 2011 at 13:17

    If anything, I loved Nora’s design. It’s an actual space colony!

    (Haven’t seen any of the other Gundams, so this was like my first time seeing a scientific realistic science fiction anime.)

    (Except the mechas… I understand that they’ll give more mobility, but why not just install THIRTY-FIVE THOUSAND ROCKET LAUNCHERS under the ground? Or give the Gundam’s lightsabre to everybody else, allowing them to beat the UE? It feels a bit lame that the Gundam was better than the other robots not because its design was smoother, but because its metal was stronger and could resist attacks, and it had a lightsabre that any other Genoace could also have used.)

    • November 25, 2011 at 16:03

      Yeah, Gundam has never had terribly strong logic. It harkens back to the very first Gundam where it’s strong point was mostly the “Gundanium” armor. In the end though, if this Gundam is anything like the others the winning factor will be the pilot. It is ALWAYS the pilot.

  4. June 27, 2013 at 21:40

    You can definitely see your skills in the article you write.
    The world hopes for even more passionate writers such as you
    who aren’t afraid to say how they believe. At all times follow your heart.

  1. No trackbacks yet.

Leave a Reply

