Home > Check-in Station > Check-in Station: Ichigo Mashimaro eps 1-5 (“When you finish reading this post go stand in the hall.”)

Check-in Station: Ichigo Mashimaro eps 1-5 (“When you finish reading this post go stand in the hall.”)


Do you like little girls?  Cute little girls?  No, don’t worry this isn’t a sting.  I’m not the internet police.  They don’t talk to you, they just snatch you up in the middle of the night.  This is more like a warning.  You may fall prey to a visciously cute and hilarious show.  I can attest to that.  I myself am a victim.  This show is good!

Ichigo Mashimaro, or Strawberry Marshmallow in English, is your classic “show about nothing”.  Sure, everyone’s in school.  But as far as I can tell, this show isn’t really about that.  Day to day it’s about the personalities of Nobue, the college girl who looks young enough to be in middle school; and Chika, Matsuri, Miu and Ana, the grade school kids who generate most of the insanity.  That’s all the prep you need, after that it becomes a matter of whether you like them and if you have a sense of humor.

I’m looking forward to the rest of this show.  This is because unlike the previous slice-of-life comedy with cute girls I saw, Kanamemo, this show is just as cute, no cuter!  And it’s showing superior comedy.  While Kanamemo was outrageous at times, it typically was too slow for me and most jokes didn’t have a good bang to them.  The jokes didn’t have that snap to them and  managed to mostly draw smiles, rather than any actual audible “gafaws”.

Strawberry Marshmallow had a rather boring first episode, but after that I’ve really enjoyed the next four.  The humor has been cute, but sharp and accessible to adults.  I’m already finding quite a few running gags that I enjoy.  Plus Ana’s circumstance strikes me as a gold mine of humor.  A young English girl who’s fluent in Japanese and has forgotten her native language.  It strikes me as clever, especially in the execution, and hits home because when I was a kid Spanish was my first language, not English.  I don’t know if I can ever go back, but I’m rooting for Ana all the way.

And then there’s Miu… oh boy.  If she initially reminded me of anyone, it would be Tomo of Azumanga Daioh fame.  Problem is that Tomo is a certified Knucklehead, and typically acts like a child.  Miu acts her age, but with the viciousness and carelessness of someone much older.  For the most part that’s quite normal.  Any child that acts out that way typically just wishes to be noticed, but Miu takes it a bit far at times.  Still despite her annoying and generally unlikable nature, she drives the comedy of this show twice as much as any character.  That fact, plus the additional one that she’s cute as hell, endears her to me.

I have no idea where this show is going.  And that’s fine for a show with its traits.  I just hope I have fun for these next seven episodes.  Seven episodes, already that seems way too short.

Further Reading:

  • This show was based on a manga?!  I may have to check it out.
  • You can find my posts on the show’s individual episodes here.  It’s my micro-blog/anime journal.
  1. No comments yet.
  1. No trackbacks yet.

Leave a Reply

