Home > Anime, Check-out Station > Check-out Station: A Certain Scientific Railgun

Check-out Station: A Certain Scientific Railgun


Railgun, Railgun, oh my! Welcome to a world where the mixture of phrases like loli, moe, schoolgirl and yuri can produce a phrase like GAR!  I found a fun friend in Biribiri and her cute, moody esper friends. And I can’t help but look at these girls and think Haruhi would be pleased, if not jealous. A Certain Scientific Railgun or Railgun, as I’ll be referring to it from now on for obvious reasons, is a fun series above all else. It always seems as though it is going out of its way to entertain you. Whether it be the wonderful animation, appealing character designs (what big heads) or the kinetic animation; this show did everything it needed to do to get my attention.  And it didn’t take me long to fall in love with it.   The plot for the most part is tight and cohesive (I’ll get to why I say for the most part later).   I’m assuming that it is due to the source material since I’ve yet to touch the manga.   The creator seems to enjoy dropping crumbs for our little girls to pickup, so we can see how clever and tenacious they are.   And while the jargon gets a bit technical and borders on babble at times, it doesn’t detract enough to hurt my ability to suspend my disbelief.   The payoff for all this detective work is usually action on various, but always entertaining scales.

Now as for the reason why I said the plot is tight and cohesive only for the most part, is because just past the halfway point the show appears to notice its own success and slow down considerably. We get decent side stories and fun little moments to make us fawn over the characters, but are annoyingly left with out much tension or immediacy until the final two episodes. It’s not a major strike against the show, but a big annoyance if you want more of the atmosphere you enjoyed in the beginning. Despite my critical stance towards the pacing, Railgun was still a very fun watch that I looked forward to week to week. I hope and pray this gets licensed and given proper treatment here in the states. I will buy this series, and that’s the highest recommendation I can give anything.

Further Reading:

  1. Leander
    June 14, 2010 at 05:50

    am reading more Bad comments about “To Aru Majutsu NO INDEX” but I find nothing thats convinced me to hate this Anime…There is nothing left in my mind to speak but allow me to give my last words… “It’s Anime! nothings impossible…anything can happen if you just give a damn on it!” maybe you don’t have this words in mind before scattering these dirty comments of yours…acting like your Mr.\Ms.Perfect…you should be aware of your naivete…Dunce…

  2. Leander
    June 14, 2010 at 05:54

    some of my sentences in my last comments has an error…My apologies…you wanna let me change it?

    • June 14, 2010 at 07:46

      First of all, thanks for stopping by. Secondly, I’m a little confused. I haven’t seen INDEX, but from this series I feel nothing but positivity about going back and watching the original. It sounds like you’re more upset at other people dumping on the series, which I understand. Just remember as long as YOU love something, that’s all the matters.

  1. April 15, 2013 at 05:04

Leave a Reply

